Renibus (Nature's Intelligent Order)
Aluminum
213 x 188 x 132 cm
Unique work
2011

Click the images to enlarge them
Renibus (Nature's Intelligent Order)

When it comes to water, the Earth and the adult human body have a singular parallel: each is made up of nearly 60% of this precious liquid. This connection is not merely anecdotal; it reveals our vital union with the planet.


The function of wetlands, like the human kidney constantly watching over the body's homeostasis, is to maintain a delicate ecosystem. Marshlands preserve and purify water, guaranteeing the biotope's equilibrium and the survival of the surrounding flora and fauna. Since the early twentieth century, unfortunately, more than two-thirds of our wetlands have disappeared. This alarming situation is due mostly to human activity: divided forests, drained bogs, chemical and organic pollution, etc. From this perspective, the sculpture "Renibus" makes us think, both about the worrisome state of our wetlands and, as a result, our obligations as citizens towards the health of the planet.


Formally, the monumental sculpture "Renibus" evokes that essential draining organ of the human body: the kidney. In its centre are round beads; others have broken open and intertwined, symbolising the fundamental complexity of an organic process such as the purification of liquids. Structures inspired at times by bur reeds, typical marshland plants, and at others by the eggs of fish and amphibians, by humus, etc. With patient poetry, the work's formal treatment suggests the fascinating "movement" of a natural cycle. A perfect circulation of energy takes shape between the beings, the material and the nutritive states. Through this symbolism of purification, White and White's sculpture gently reminds us of our responsibility as co-creator and of how renewed vigilance will contribute to nature's intelligent order.

 
 

 
 

home   |   who we are   |   new sculpture   |   public sculptures   |   the sound of water   |   wetlands   |   the process of creation   |   others creations   |   exhibitions   |   poetic on the work
news   |   media   |   contact

Web site built by Martin Guay

Renibus (L'ordre intelligent de la Nature)
Aluminium
213 x 188 x 132 cm
Oeuvre unique
2011

Cliquer sur les images pour les agrandir
Renibus (L'ordre intelligent de la Nature)

Lorsqu'il est question d'eau, la Terre et le corps humain d'un adulte offrent le singulier parallèle de contenir à peu près 60% du précieux liquide. Ce lien n'est pas seulement anecdotique, il est révélateur de notre alliance vitale avec la planète.


La fonction des terres humides, à l'instar des reins qui veillent notamment à l'homéostasie du corps humain, assure le maintien d'un délicat écosystème. En effet, les zones marécageuses conservent et purifient l'eau garantissant l'équilibre du biotope ainsi que la survie de la faune et la flore environnantes. Malheureusement, depuis le début du XXe siècle, plus du deux tiers des zones humides métropolitaines ont disparu. Une situation alarmante essentiellement due aux activités humaines: forêts fragmentées, marais drainés, pollutions chimiques et organiques, etc. Dans cette perspective, la sculpture «Renibus» porte à la réflexion, à la fois par la situation préoccupante des terres humides et, conséquemment, face à notre engagement citoyen envers la santé de la planète bleue.


D'un point de vue formel, la monumentale sculpture «Renibus» renvoie à un organe draineur essentiel du corps humain : les reins. La structure présente en son milieu des chapelets de formes rondes, d'autres déliées et entrelacées, symbolisant la complexité fondamentale d'un processus organique tel que la purification des liquides. Des structures tantôt inspirées des rubaniers, ces plantes typiques des marais, tantôt par des oeufs d'amphibiens et de poissons, par de l'humus, etc. Le traitement formel de l'œuvre suggère avec une patiente poésie le fascinant «mouvement» d'un cycle naturel. Une parfaite circulation d'énergie s'organisant entre les êtres, la matière et les états nourriciers. À travers cette symbolique de la purification, l'œuvre de White et White nous rappelle doucement à notre responsabilité de co-créateur, à cette vigile renouvelée qui collabore à l'ordre intelligent de la Nature.

 
 

 
 

accueil   |   qui sommes-nous   |   nouvelle sculpture   |   sculptures publiques   |   le son de l'eau   |   les terres humides   |   processus de création   |   autres créations   |   expositions   |   poétique de l'oeuvre
actualités   |   presse   |   contact

Conception Web par Martin Guay