Presentation of the exhibition
"The Sound of water"


We are so closely connected to water that the image of a mirror of ourselves, with its symbolic worlds, comes to mind immediately. Every human being, inside their own physical body, is awash in fluids derived from water. At the same time, they see their reflection outside their bodies in the large and small bodies of water that surround them.


With the increasing scarcity of pure fresh water around the world, the connection between living beings and water has inevitably become closer. People have become more aware of this shared resource, indispensable to human life and to ecosystems. Nevertheless, many people today in the West, unlike those in the Third World, where people live in a constant state of stress around water, have only a vague idea of the ways in which they are connected to water. This resource, present in all life, is inescapably connected to culture, spirituality, economic growth and social development.With the exhibition The Sound of Water, we hope to bring about renewed awareness of the primordial ties which, since the beginning of time, have connected human beings to water. The sculptures presented show human figures coupled with their reflections in water. Iridescent effects situate each work in the decisive play of a mirror reflection; the sculpted refractions bear within them an emotive charge and symbolic content that makes them more important in the eyes of the artists than in the people from which they are derived. The most common perception of the mirror is that which brings individuals back to a vision of themselves. Here we use the “mirror reflection” in a more fundamental way, in a manner that suggests that all human beings incorporate within them every aspect of the expression of the life of which they are a part—here, in their personal relationship with water to an immanent resonance affecting the existence of all other living beings.


The fifteen bronze and aluminium sculptures in the exhibition The Sound of Water thus attempt to capture and communicate the profound nature of this element as the means and site of revelation. Water bears life; it purifies and regenerates. In this privileged space in which we hear and observe The Sound of Water, therefore, primordial murmurs and luminous reflections provide a possible message to our attentive consciousness: the suggestion of a harmonious co-existence arising out of a unique concord between all living beings, the very image of the great unifying principle embodied by water.

 
 

 
 

home   |   who we are   |   new sculpture   |   public sculptures   |   the sound of water   |   wetlands   |   the process of creation   |   others creations   |   exhibitions   |   poetic on the work
news   |   media   |   contact

Web site built by Martin Guay

Présentation de l'exposition
"Le son de l'eau"


L'intimité qui nous lie à l'eau est si grande que l'image d'un miroir de nous-mêmes, avec ses univers symboliques, s'impose d'emblée à notre esprit. Chaque être, à l'intérieur de son propre corps physique, est baigné par les fluides dérivés de l'eau, pareillement se voit-il reflété à l'extérieur dans les eaux, grandes et petites, de son environnement.


Avec la raréfaction actuelle de l'eau douce de qualité, désormais à l'échelle planétaire, les liens des êtres vivants envers l'eau se sont inévitablement resserrés. Les consciences et les perceptions sont devenues plus aigues face à cet indispensable bien commun de l'humanité et des écosystèmes. Toutefois, de nombreux contemporains de notre hémisphère - à l'inverse des populations du tiers-monde où les individus vivent dans un état de stress hydrique constant –ont une perception floue quant aux liens qui les unissent à l'eau. Cette ressource alliée de toute vie, immanquablement associée à la culture, à la spiritualité, à la croissance économique et au développement des sociétés. Avec l'exposition Le Son de l'eau nous souhaitons inciter à une « re-connaissance » des liens primordiaux qui, de toute éternité, unissent les humains à l'eau. Les sculptures présentées illustrent des figurations humaines couplées à leur reflet dans l'eau. Des effets chatoyants qui renvoient chaque œuvre au jeu déterminant du «reflet-miroir ». En effet, les réfractions sculptées portent en elles une charge émotive et un contenu symbolique qui les rendent plus importantes à nos yeux que les personnages eux-mêmes dont elles sont issues. La perception la plus commune du miroir est celle qui ramène un sujet face à une vision de lui-même. Notre utilisation du « reflet-miroir » se veut cependant d'une portée plus essentielle, suggérant que chaque être incorpore en lui l'ensemble de l'expression de la Vie et que, ici dans son rapport personnel avec l'eau, participe à une résonance immanente influant sur l'existence de tous les autres êtres vivants.


La quinzaine de sculptures, en bronze et aluminium, présentées dans l'exposition Le Son de l'eau tentent ainsi de capter et de communiquer la nature profonde de cet élément comme moyen et lieu de révélation. L'eau est porteuse de vie ; l'eau est purificatrice et régénératrice. Ainsi, dans cet espace privilégié où entendre et observer Le Son de l'eau, des murmures primordiaux et des reflets lumineux offrent un éventuel message à notre conscience attentive : la suggestion d'une coexistence harmonieuse jaillissant d'un accord unique entre tous les êtres vivants, à l'image même du grand principe unificateur illustré par l'eau.

 
 

 
 

accueil   |   qui sommes-nous   |   nouvelle sculpture   |   sculptures publiques   |   le son de l'eau   |   les terres humides   |   processus de création   |   autres créations   |   expositions   |   poétique de l'oeuvre
actualités   |   presse   |   contact

Conception Web par Martin Guay