Momenta Vivendo
Bronze and Granite
198 x 102 x 102 cm
78 x 40 x 40 po
Unique work
2019

Click the images to enlarge them

We designed and made this sculpture for the owners of an exceptional estate overlooking the majestic St. Lawrence River. Having had a vast plant labyrinth built on their property in the spirit of that of the Cathedral of Chartres, in France, they wanted to erect a sculpture in the centre of it honouring The Family and Nature. This sculpture was to depict the biological solidarity among all living things.


We wanted the work, nestled in the heart of the labyrinth, this place making a journey and contemplation, an invitation to discover the dynamic and fusional force of family ties, while creating an atmosphere of vitality, serenity and harmony.


The general composition of the work is an enveloping form, in the image of a family cocoon which is taking us back and linking us to essential values. We opted for an aerial sculpture all made of curves and, offering this way to the natural elements, such as wind, rain and snow, the possibility of venturing and caressing it. The Chartres labyrinth being a famous ancient creation (it was built about 800 years ago !), oriented our choice towards a spherical shape, which is also an immemorial representation. The sphere, linked to the spiritual world and symbol of movement, seemed interesting to us to evoke the evolution of a family through a host of events and adventures. This sphere is composed of two large intertwined plant’s leaves symbolizing the necessary union of two beings to give life.


It was decided that for the sixtieth anniversary of the birth of one of the owners of this estate, sixty themes would recount significant moments in the journey of this family. In order to narrate these memorable episodes of life in sculpture, and to echo the labyrinth and the sphere whose representations date back to the dawn of time, Egyptian hieroglyphs have imposed themselves on our mind, being archaic carved drawings that tell stories on humans and their relationships with other living things.


The two granite menhirs that support the spherical bronze shape represent the couple. One of the menhirs is surmounted by four small stones to represent their children. The symbolism of the rocks is solidity and durability, like a strong and united family.



 
 
 
 

home   |   who we are   |   new sculpture   |   public sculptures   |   the sound of water   |   wetlands   |   the process of creation   |   others creations   |   exhibitions   |   poetic on the work
news   |   media   |   contact

Web site built by Martin Guay

Momenta Vivendo
Bronze et Granit
198 x 102 x 102 cm
78 x 40 x 40 po
Oeuvre unique
2019

Cliquer sur les images pour les agrandir

Nous avons conçu et réalisé cette sculpture pour les propriétaires d’un domaine exceptionnel situé en surplomb du majestueux Fleuve Saint-Laurent. Ayant fait aménager sur leur propriété un vaste labyrinthe végétal dans l’esprit de celui de la Cathédrale de Chartres, en France, ils désiraient ériger au centre de celui-ci une sculpture rendant hommage à La Famille et à la Nature. Cette sculpture devait ainsi dépeindre la solidarité biologique entre tous les êtres vivants.


Nous souhaitions que l’œuvre, nichée au cœur du labyrinthe, ce lieu de cheminement et de recueillement, invite à découvrir la force dynamique et fusionnelle des liens familiaux, tout en suscitant une atmosphère de vitalité, de sérénité et d’harmonie.


La composition générale de l’œuvre est une forme enveloppante, à l’image d’un cocon familial qui ramène aux valeurs et aux liens essentiels. Nous avons opté pour une sculpture toute en courbes et aérienne, qui offre aux éléments naturels, tels le vent, la pluie et la neige, la possibilité de s’y aventurer et de la caresser. Le labyrinthe de Chartres étant une célèbre création ancienne (il fut construit il y a environ 800 ans !), orienta notre choix vers une forme sphérique, qui est également une représentation immémoriale. La sphère, rattachée au monde spirituel et symbole du mouvement, nous parut intéressante pour évoquer l’évolution d’une famille à travers une foule d’événements et d’aventures. Cette sphère est composée de deux grandes feuilles végétales enlacées symbolisant la nécessaire union de deux êtres pour donner la vie.


Il fut décidé que pour le soixantième anniversaire de naissance de l’un des propriétaires de ce domaine, soixante thèmes raconteraient des moments marquants du parcours de cette famille. Afin de narrer en sculpture ces épisodes de vie mémorables, et pour faire écho au labyrinthe et à la sphère dont les représentations remontent à la nuit des temps, les hiéroglyphes égyptiens se sont imposés à notre esprit, étant des dessins archaïques sculptés qui relatent des histoires sur les humains et leurs liens avec les autres êtres vivants.


Les deux menhirs en granit qui soutiennent la forme sphérique en bronze figurent le couple. L’un des menhirs est surmonté de quatre petites pierres pour représenter leurs enfants. La symbolique des roches est la solidité et la pérennité, comme une famille forte et unie.



 
 

 
 

accueil   |   qui sommes-nous   |   nouvelle sculpture   |   sculptures publiques   |   le son de l'eau   |   les terres humides   |   processus de création   |   autres créations   |   expositions   |   poétique de l'oeuvre
actualités   |   presse   |   contact

Conception Web par Martin Guay