Impromptu for tailpieces and pegs
Aluminium
63 x 102 x 56 cm
Unique work
2016

Click the images to enlarge them
Impromptu for tailpieces and pegs

Most stringed musical instruments are provided with a tailpiece located at the lower end of the instrument. They are also provided with pegs (sometimes called the keys) positioned at the upper end of the instrument. Between the tailpiece and the pegs, the strings usually line up side by side, well stretched and strained.


In our sculpture, more than a hundred tailpieces and pegs are fancily assembled in an oval shape, plump and graceful, representing a particular figure of musical note: the round, which has a value of longer life time. All shows metaphorically a string orchestra.


We see this "round" as the symbol of a suspended moment, favoring as much listening to tunes composed by the human that those arising from the nature. The strings attached to the tailpieces and the pegs are drawing geometric shapes representing a musical writing system as well as organic shapes evoking the vibrant and melodious sounds from nature.

 
 
Sculpture presented at Musée du Bronze
d'Inverness (Québec) for the group exhibition
« La Musique » from 27 May to 9 October
2016

 
 

home   |   who we are   |   new sculpture   |   public sculptures   |   the sound of water   |   wetlands   |   the process of creation   |   others creations   |   exhibitions   |   poetic on the work
news   |   media   |   contact

Web site built by Martin Guay

Impromptu pour Cordiers et Chevilles
Aluminium
63 x 102 x 56 cm
Oeuvre unique
2016

Cliquer sur les images pour les agrandir
Impromptu pour cordiers et chevilles

La plupart des instruments de musique à cordes frottées sont munis d'un cordier, situé à l'extrémité inférieure de l'instrument. Ils sont aussi pourvus de chevilles (parfois appelées les clefs) positionnées à l'extrémité supérieure de l'instrument. Entre le cordier et les chevilles, les cordes s'alignent habituellement côte à côte, bien étirées et tendues.


Dans notre sculpture, plus d'une centaine de cordiers et de chevilles sont regroupés avec fantaisie en une forme ovale, charnue et gracieuse, représentant une figure de note en particulier : la ronde, qui a une valeur de temps de longue durée. L'ensemble illustre d'une manière métaphorique un orchestre à cordes.


Nous envisageons cette « ronde » comme le symbole d'un moment suspendu, favorisant autant l'écoute des airs composés par l'humain que ceux découlant de la nature. Les cordes à jouer attachées aux cordiers et aux chevilles dessinent des formes géométriques représentant un système d'écriture musicale ainsi que des formes organiques évoquant les sonorités vibrantes et mélodieuses issues de la nature.

 
 
Sculpture présentée au Musée du Bronze
d'Inverness (Québec) pour l'exposition
"La Musique" du 27 mai au 9 octobre
2016

 
 

accueil   |   qui sommes-nous   |   nouvelle sculpture   |   sculptures publiques   |   le son de l'eau   |   les terres humides   |   processus de création   |   autres créations   |   expositions   |   poétique de l'oeuvre
actualités   |   presse   |   contact

Conception Web par Martin Guay